The Fastest Wide Receiver That Never Was

jim-hines

 

In 1968,  Jim “Oops” Hines was the first man to ever break the 10 second barrier in the 100 meter dash.  Hines would then go on to hold the world-record in the 100 meter dash for the next 15 years.  To say that Jim Hines was an accomplished track and field star with great athletic capacity would be an understatement.

While the name Jim Hines was well known in the arena of Track and Field,  he would later go on to be known as Jim “Oops” Hines when he was drafted in the 6th round of the NFL draft by the Miami Dolphins.  He received the nickname “Oops” because of his horrid skills as a football player.  In fact depending on who you are talking to Jim “Oops” Hines is one of the 10 worst football players of all-time.

How could a man with such capacity and widely  recognized as a star in one form of athletics be regarded as one of the absolute worst in another?

The answer – capacity does not equal production.

I was recently thinking about this idea of capacity vs. production when considering “why is it that people often know something or know how to do something but yet fail to produce the result?”

The answer is likely because of many reasons but I feel that these are the most common….

Confusion– We all know people that seem to be blessed with endless skills and abilities but always seem to underachieve (possibly you recognize this in yourself?).  I believe it to be because, the confused mind says no.  Simply put, we fail to specifically know what it is that we are after and when we fail in that regard our default answer tends to be “no” or to do nothing at all.

Discomfort – Getting comfortable being uncomfortable is very necessary.  What I mean is it’s easy to operate in the areas in which we are comfortable, such as: the expectations of others and ourselves, people similar to us, when we are superior in someway, and our current skills and abilities.  Unfortunately these types of environments stop the growth curve.  It makes us feel great in the moment but stagnate in the end.

Fear – Similar to discomfort, but fear is the more common emergency brake to people’s success and sadly much more based in illusion.  What I mean is that fear is very often something we make up in advance around an event that hasn’t even happened yet.  I know this roadblock all to well and regularly have to check myself in the face of fear and “just do it anyway.”  I can say with certainty that this approach has yet to fail me.  I’ve increased my speaking engagements recently, retargeted my audience as well as speaking topics and I admit that in doing so I regularly have to overcome the fear roadblock.  “Can I really bring value to these people?”  These disempowering types of questions could lead to fearful states and in turn keep me from aligning my production proportionally with my real capacities.

What keeps you and others from “doing what you know, even when you know what to do?”

My sincerest of gratitude for you reading, your comments, feedback, thoughts, and for sharing with your friends.

Regards,
Sean Z. Callahan

Leave a Reply

